2012 Coastal Summit features marine science and ocean acidification panel

LONG BEACH — Rapidly changing ocean chemistry, earthquakes and tsunamis, the impacts of plastics on the ocean and other scientific topics are on the agenda for public sessions of the Coastal Summit in Long Beach this week.

The event, now in its third year, convenes the four coastal Marine Resource Committees to share knowledge and ideas with each other and the public and build a network of informed and empowered coastal communities.

Summit coordinator Casey Dennehy of the Surfrider Foundation said, “We have invited scientists who are pre-eminent in their fields to examine some of the most serious problems facing our oceans and the people who care for them. This is an excellent opportunity for the public to learn about these topics and what role citizens can play in protecting our coast and achieving healthier seas.”

The Coastal Summit will be held at the Cranberry Museum, 2907 Pioneer Road, Long Beach.  The event is free to the public, but you must register online (for guaranteed admission and to indicate free lunch preference) or at the door. If you are interested in attending, email cdennehy@surfrider.org.

The Coastal MRC Program consists of Pacific, Grays Harbor, Wahkiakum counties and North Pacific Coast MRCs. Its goal is to understand, steward, and restore the marine and estuarine ecology of the Washington coast, strengthening ecosystem health, sustainable marine-based livelihoods, cultural integrity, and coastal communities.

Saturday, Dec. 8

Open to the public (presentation order subject to change)

Cranberry Museum

2907 Pioneer Rd. Long Beach

8:45 a.m.: Introductions

9 a.m.: Brian Atwater — Coastal Earthquakes

10 a.m.: Anne Murphy — Plastics

11 a.m.: Shallin Busch — Ocean Acidification

Noon: Lunch, Washington State Blue Ribbon Panel on Ocean Acidification

1 p.m.: Banas/Hickey — Ocean modeling

2:30 p.m.: Ray Hilborne — Ocean abundance

3:30 p.m.: ConclusioBrian Atwater is a geologist for the US Geological Survey and UW research professor; Anne Murphy is the executive director of the Port Townsend Marine Science Center; Shallin Busch works for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration as a research ecologist; Barbara Hickey and Neil Banas are UW oceanographers; and Ray Hilborn is a UW marine biologist and fisheries scientist.

Chinook Observer, 4 December 2012. Article.

  • Reset


OA-ICC Highlights

%d bloggers like this: