Ocean acidification at the 9th International Carbon Dioxide Conference (ICDC9)

Ocean acidification will be included in Theme 3 of the 9th International Carbon Dioxide Conference (ICDC9; www.icdc9.org), Beijing, China, 3-7 June 2013. The deadline for abstract submission is 1st February 2013.

Conference Themes
1. Past and present changes and variabilities
Carbon cycle changes in the past
Variabilities on diurnal, seasonal, interannual and interdecadal timescales: Quantification, process study and attribution
2. Carbon sources and sinks, their changes and trends
Anthropogenic emissions: production, comsumption, trade, countries, regions and cities, spatial and temporal characteristics of CO2 emissions from fossil fuel, land use, and other sources
Sinks in the ocean and on land: natural and man-made CO2 sinks
Closing the carbon budget: from global to regional scales
3. Direct and indirect effects of high CO2 concentration in a warmer world
Ecosystem impacts
Ocean acidification and other effects
Carbon cycle vulnerabilities and carbon-climate feedbacks
4. Future of the carbon cycle and climate
Projection of emissions: fossil fuel, land use, etc.
Carbon management and carbon sequestration for climate change mitigation and adaptation and sustainable development

Conference format
The format of the conference will consist of a main line of invited and selected plenary presentations covering all fields of global carbon cycle research. Several extended poster sessions and a few parallel sessions on specific topics will complement the plenary. Participants will be asked to submit an extended abstract, which will be compiled into an electronic abstract volume prior to the conference and made available to all participants. Proceedings will be published as refereed papers in a special volume of Earth System Dynamics.

Scientific Steering Committee
Laurent Bopp, LSCE, France
Ken Caldeira, Carnegie Institution for Science, Stanford, USA
Pep Canadell, Global Carbon Project, CSIRO, Canberra, Australia
Jing Chen, University of Toronto, Canada and Nanjing University, China
Phillipe Ciais, LSCE, Gif-sur-Yvette, France
Ken Davis, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, USA
Niki Gruber, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Martin Heimann, Max-Planck-Institute for Biogeochemistry, Jena, Germany
Debbie Huntzinger, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, USA
Nianzi Jiao, Xiamen University, China
Michio Kawamiya, JAMSTEC, Japan
Corrine Le Quere, University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK
Yiqi Luo, University of Oklahoma, USA
Gregg Marland, Appalachian State University and Oak Ridge National Lab, USA
Anna Michalak, Carnegie Institution for Science, USA
Peter Raymond, Yale University
Stephen Sitch, University of Exeter, UK
Pieter Tans, ESRL, USA
Riccardo Valentini, University of Tuscia, Viterbo, Italy
Ye Qi, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
Richard Zeebe, University of Hawaii, USA
Ning Zeng (Chair), University of Maryland, and Chinese Academy of Sciences

Local Organizing Committee
Chen Jing Ming
Fang Jingyun
Guo Zhengtang
Huang Yao
Li Zengyuan
Lin Guanghui
Lu Daren
Lu Riyu
Luo Yiqi
Piao Shilong
Ren Xiaobo
Song Changqing
Wang Huijun
Wang Pinxian
Yu Guirui
Zhang Chaolin
Zhou Guangsheng
Zhou Lingxi
Zeng Ning

Secretary General
Xie Zhenghui

Lin Zheng (Jenny)
Wang Shaoqiang

  • Reset


OA-ICC Highlights

%d bloggers like this: