OCB OA subcommittee welcomes new members

Six new members have joined the OCB OA subcommittee, and they bring a range of scientific expertise and organizational talents to the OA subcommittee:

Andreas Andersson (BIOS/SIO)
– A geochemist who studies global environmental change owing to both natural and anthropogenic processes, with
emphases on marine CO2 and carbonate geochemistry and on ocean acidification’s effects on marine calcifiers and coral reefs, calcium carbonate mineral dissolution, and sediment composition.

Rusty Brainard (NOAA PIFSC) – Originally a physical oceanographer, Rusty now performs interdisciplinary and integrated ecosystem observations of coral reef ecosystems across the Pacific Islands and has a particular interest in spatial and temporal changes of reef ecosystems and biodiversity in response to climate change and ocean acidification.

Gretchen Hofmann (UCSB)
– A metazoan-focused ecophysiologist who broadly focuses on understanding the role of temperature and oceanographic features on marine species’ distributions, and who also employs genomic and traditional biological methods to assess species responses.

Jeremy Mathis (UAF) – A carbon and nitrogen biogeochemist using classical biogeochemical methods to examine ecosystem function in various regions, particularly the Arctic Ocean, the Bering Sea, and the Gulf of Alaska, with special emphasis on human/ocean and land/ocean interactions.

Taro Takahashi (LDEO) – A geochemist who seeks to understand the fate of industrial CO2 emissions by examining CO2 cycling through the oceans and atmosphere and by examining the behavior of the oceanic CO2 sink over time.

Carol Turley (PML) – Originally a microbial biogeochemist, Carol focuses on communicating the possible holistic impacts of ocean acidification, including OA’s economic and policy consequences; Carol is also deeply involved in international OA organizations including EPOCA, the SOLAS-IMBER Ocean Acidification Working Group, and the UK Ocean Acidification Research Program.

The OCB-OA subcommittee and Project Office extend our deep gratitude to the four departing OCB-OA subcommittee members: Barney Balch (BLOS), Jean-Pierre Gattuso (CNRS-UPMC), Dave Hutchins (USC), co-chair Joanie Kleypas (NCAR), Chris Langdon (RSMAS), and Richard Zeebe (UH). These scientists have been key players in getting OA research off the ground in both OCB and the scientific community. In the inaugural years of the OCB-OA subcommittee, these scientists have contributed greatly to the OCB-OA subcommittee’s accomplishments, some of which include: development of a white paper, “Ocean Acidification: Recommended Strategy for a U.S. National Research Program” (2009), hosting the two-week OCB short course on OA (2009),
publication of a special issue on ocean acidification in Oceanography (2009), coauthorship of the National Academies report “Ocean Acidification: A National Strategy to Meet the Challenges of a Changing Ocean” (2010), participation in the Ocean Research and Resources Advisory Panel (ORRAP) and coauthorship of its report “Ocean Acidification Task Force: Summary of Work Completed and Recommendations for ORRAP to Convey to the IWG-OA”, (2011), and hosting the first meeting for OA PIs in the US (2011).

OCB Newsletter, Summer 2011. Full article.

  • Reset


OA-ICC Highlights